Two women mathematicians receive the Irène Joliot-Curie 2023 Prize


CNRS Mathématiques (Insmi) congratulates the two winners of the Irène Joliot-Curie 2023 Prize: Olga Paris-Romaskevich, for the Special Commitment Prize, and Virginie Galland Ehrlacher, for the Young Woman Scientist Prize.

Created in 2001, the Irène Joliot-Curie Prize rewards outstanding female researchers and scientists. This year, six women researchers will be honored at the 22nd edition of the Irène Joliot-Curie Prize, on March 7, 2024, in the presence of Sylvie Retailleau, French Minister of Higher Education and Research.


Doing mathematics as a woman is a process of resistance that we don't really choose. A spring resists when you press on it, not really because you want it to, but because an opposing force is created - that's Newton's third law
Olga Paris-Romaskevich, CNRS Research Associate

Olga Paris-Romaskevich is a CNRS research fellow at the Institut de mathématiques de Marseille1 .

A specialist in fundamental mathematics, her research focuses on dynamical systems, a field of mathematics concerned with motion. More specifically, for the past few years she has been focusing on a class of dynamical systems known as billiards in tessellations, enabling her to tackle questions of geometry, ergodic theory, combinatorics and topology.

Olga Paris-Romaskevich is a mathematician committed to inclusive science, she helped organize "Les Cigales", a mathematics weeklong course for high-school girls hosted by CIRM. She is the co-author of Matheuses: les filles, avenir des mathématiques (CNRS Éditions, 2024) with Clémence Perronnet, sociologist and specialist in scientific culture, and Claire Marc, science mediator.

On March 07, 2024, on the occasion of the 22nd edition of the Irène Joliot-Curie Prize, she was awarded the "Prix spécial de l'engagement" (Commitment Prize”), which recognizes a scientist particularly committed to raising awareness and guiding girls and young people in general towards the sciences.

  • 1CNRS/Aix-Marseille Université

Irène Joliot-Curie 2023 Prize | Olga Paris-Romaskevich awarded the “Special commitment Prize”



It's vital to explain to them how essential the sciences are to our society, and to explain very early on in the school curriculum what career opportunities are open to those who decide to study science.
Virginie Galland Ehrlacher, Researcher and Professor at CERMICS

Virginie Galland Ehrlacher is a mathematician and professor at CERMICS, and a member of the INRIA MATHERIALS project-team.


Virginie Galland Ehrlacher works on the development and mathematical analysis of efficient numerical methods for solving high-dimensional problems, with a particular focus on applications in materials science.

In December 2023, she was awarded the European ERC-Starting Grants, which will enable her to launch a research project called HighLEAP. The ambition of this project is to develop a new mathematical framework for the development and analysis of efficient numerical methods for the simulation of systems made up of a very large number of interacting particles or agents. With a budget of 1.3 million euros over five years, it plans to set up a team and "structure a new field of research and interest a scientific community from a variety of disciplines".

On March 07, 2024, at the 22nd edition of the Irène Joliot-Curie Prize, she was awarded the prize for "Young Woman Scientist" of the year, which recognizes women who have defended their thesis within the last 10 years.

Irène Joliot-Curie 2023 Prize | Virginie Galland Ehrlacher awared “Young woman scientist of the year”


The Irène Joliot-Curie prize

Find out all information related to the Irène Joliot-Curie Prize and its winners here.


Olga Paris-Romaskevich is a CNRS research fellow, assigned to the Institut de Mathématiques de Marseille (I2M - Aix-Marseille Université & CNRS).

Virginie Galland Ehrlacher is a researcher and professor at CERMICS, the applied mathematics laboratory of the École nationale des ponts et chaussées, and a member of the Inria MATHERIALS project-team.